Beautiful Bataan

Bataan: One of the country’s last stands before succumbing to Japanese forces during the World War 2.

So much have been said about this place in Philippine history, yet more of its beauty can be unraveled when you visit it yourself.

Perhaps most of us remember Bataan for the dreadful Bataan Death March where our Filipino fighters and American allies were forced to walk by the Japanese Imperial Army for 102 kilometers from Bagac and Mariveles to San Fernando then to Camp O’Donnell in Tarlac. They were beaten, starved, and some were summarily executed. Most survived, but many didn’t.

With Bataan’s important role in our country’s history, I found it imperative to be one of the places to visit in the Philippines. For me, it’s a symbol of our forefathers’ valor and their heroic fight for freedom.

A few amateur snapshots I took while marching around: Bataan bataan2 bataan3 bataan5 bataan6 bataan capitolUpdate: Bataan at night. Photos courtesy of UNDP’s Ryan Cuanan.

RyanCuanan_Balanga5RyanCuanan_Balanga8

RyanCuanan_Balanga6
Sunset in Balanga, Bataan.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Beautiful Bataan

  1. yolomoment July 11, 2015 / 2:30 am

    Your shots are actually nice especially the church part 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ceemee July 14, 2015 / 3:02 am

    I have never been to these parts of Bataan, just the Shrine of Valor at Mt. Samat.

    Like

  3. Dominique Goh July 14, 2015 / 4:00 am

    Nice to see so many traditional looking buildings around. The place is certainly very beautiful.

    Like

  4. Elizabeth O. July 15, 2015 / 11:14 am

    It’s been ages since I had last been to Bataan. It looks so different now form your pictures. I hope I can visit it again.

    Like

  5. JanzCrystalz/January July 16, 2015 / 10:40 am

    Bataan looks so interesting. If given a chance I would love to explore the place just like you did. 🙂

    Like

  6. MELISSA U July 19, 2015 / 9:44 am

    I love your photos especially those with the lights. 🙂 I hope I can visit Bataan too. It’s beautiful!

    Like

  7. Grace July 20, 2015 / 1:19 am

    wow so much has changed. we have relatives there but never saw these attractions before. and that was what, more than 2 decade ago i guess.

    Like

  8. Lai July 20, 2015 / 2:18 am

    I have been in Bataan, when we visited a friend and stayed there for a couple of days. I love the place.

    Like

  9. theresa July 20, 2015 / 7:12 am

    I’ve been to Bataan last month and I love the beach. I haven’t been on this area but will definitely go back to Bataan soon!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts! :)

